We’re Going to Need More Wine

I did not have any expectations or opinions about Gabrielle Union or her upcoming book before I immersed myself into her life and completely ignored mine until I read the book’s final pages. I did not expect to love this book as much as I do, as this post and my 5 star rating on Goodreads reflects. But yes, I love this friggin book. Even more, I kinda dig Nickie too. Hey, if the bitch is one thing, she’s honest!

We’re Going to Need More Wine is full of stories and life lessons Nickie shares with us. Let me mention this, in this book, we meet Nickie and not Gabrielle, the glamorous and insanely beautiful celebrity with the crafted image. It was cool getting to know Nickie. I identified with so many issues and experiences she talks sincerely and profoundly about. For instance, as a black girl from the south, we all get “the talk” before attending school and work. Nickie got it too from her parents. She also discusses her growing pains, ignorances, and yes, even the famous mean girl speech. Honestly, after reading this book, I had no choice but to get real with myself about my own conflicting and adverse thoughts and actions. Anyway, I am not being paid to type this review. Read this book when it’s released in October. I think it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year. I like Nickie a lot. (You too, Gabrielle!) Reading this book made me feel as if Nickie and I were indeed chilling, drinking wine and reflecting about life and its wondrous, bountiful lessons.

 

I received an advanced reader’s copy from Edelweiss to read and review.

Leave a Reply

