My Favorites of 2016

It’s that time of year again! It’s my formerly known ‘You Did That!’ list, my favorite books of 2016! This year has been a roller coaster ride for me. I’ve been up, I’ve been mostly down, but I’m still standing bishes! I might bend but I don’t break! Anyway, I want to thank all authors for giving me something to read to help me pass the time, entertain myself, ignore people, or simply learn something new. So thanks to you! Y’all did that! I also want to thank those of you who have stuck around or have read a post. You didn’t have to, but you did, so thank you. I won’t bore you guys with a full review, especially since I have already provided full posts on these books previously (except one). So, let’s get started!

Best Fiction

1. The Cartel 6: The Demise by Ashley and JaQuavis26114237

They make my list erry damn year, don’t they? Who doesn’t love the Diamond family?!  When you sit down to read this book, you better get your wings and snacks ready because you aren’t going anywhere until you finish. This story is on 10 from the first few pages. I cannot wait for book 7!

2. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

27071490

I did not know what to expect with this one, but I loved it. The ending was nothing less than beautiful. Absolutely stunning, this novel right here is.

3. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

28250841

This adventurous thriller had my heart thumping! It truly deserves the hype. Reminds me immensely of the WGN television show Underground, which I loved.

4. I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan

27071481 (1)

I just love her. I really do. This book is everything I didn’t know I needed.

Best Nonfiction

1. The Wait by Meagan Good and Devon Franklin

23492536If I could give this book to every person I know, I would. I talk about this book regularly and recommend it everyone trying to get their lives right and WAIT for the best that is sure to come.

Best Cookbook

Cravings by Chrissy Teigen

25982685

Lord knows I didn’t wanna like it! Lord knowsss I didn’t… but dammit, I do! I don’t usually dig cookbooks by celebrities, but this one surprised me. It’s eclectic and fun, with many yummy recipes. I am so upset I gave my copy away. I was trying to be nice to a co-worker. I won’t do that ish again tho!

So, great job y’all!  You guys did that! giphy

If you haven’t read those books, you should! I enjoyed them immensely and know you will too!

I hope 2017 brings us all happiness and new, wonderful books to read!

Leave a Reply

