Homegoing

27071490

There isn’t much for me to say about this book except that I enjoyed it!

Homegoing is a beautifully written novel that weaves together the lives of half-sisters, one living in ease in the Cape Coast Castle, while her unknown half-sister is enslaved in the castle’s basement, about to be shipped to America and sold as a slave in the Atlantic slave trade. Each chapter follows the lives of the sisters’ descendants until the bloodline reconnects at the end. And let me tell you, the ending is nothing short of enchanting.  It was simply beautiful to me.

The set up of this book reminded me a lot of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie. I enjoyed that one immensely, as well.

For those of us who are into genealogy, this book is definitely one to read. I was reminded of how folks can speak with people and never know that they are related! I often thought about my own ancestors, their trials, the hell they experienced… so yeah, this book is an awesome read. I also enjoyed reading about the lives of all of the offspring and the times they were living in, up until the present day. I highly recommend this book!

 

I received my advanced copy from Netgalley.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

