I Almost Forgot About You

27071481 (1)Terry McMillan novels are like home cooked meals from Granny, or that Thanksgiving meal where all your family shows up. It’s love. It’s nourishment. It’s hope. Especially when your reality seems bleak.

I Almost Forgot About You.

Wow. I should have known better. I should have known Terry was going to come for my edges! I should have knownnnnnnn…. Yes, I enjoyed this book immensely, and I think you will too. So, what is it about? Glad you asked!

Reinvention.

If I could describe this book with one word, reinvention is it. Georgia is existing and not living her life, like lots of us now. To the outside world, it appears that she has it all: a career, two daughters and grandchildren, financial stability, her own home. But to her, something is missing. Being an optometrist is boring, safe. Her home is too big for just one person. Love? What love life! Obviously, she picked the wrong men, marrying two of them fools, and she’s alone. She goes to work and comes back home to an empty house. That’s pretty much the gist of Georgia’s life.

However, something shifts in her when she finds out a former love passed away. The news sparks her need to find her former loves, the important ones anyway, to let them know that she had not forgotten about them. She wants to express to them the role they played in her life, let them know why she loved them, know why they stopped loving each other, all of that stuff.

That’s all I’m going to give away about this book. Read the book.

Simply put, I loved it. Terry’s books make me emotional. Yes, your girl became a bit teary-eyed and such because I felt it! I understand Georgia and had a come to Jesus moment. On that last page, I looked at my life with new eyes and became grateful. Yeah, things didn’t go exactly as planned, but I’m still here.

Thank you, Ms. Terry McMillan.

 

I received an advance copy from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

