The Great Pretender

620273I don’t remember how I found this book. I am glad that I did, though! It’s been on my to-read list for a long time, and I finally listened to the audiobook while on my commute. Let me tell y’all, I really enjoyed this story and think others will too.

The quick rundown: Reggie has been living a double life. He has two families: his wife, Tracy, and two daughters in Miami, and his girlfriend, Renee, and young daughter in Orlando. He splits his time with both families, and of course, neither family knows about the other. However, there is a person who does know the truth, Reggie’s best friend, Frank. Reggie confides in Frank because he is becoming tired of living a lie, both physically and emotionally. He wants to finally be settled with one family. Reggie picks a family, but all doesn’t go as Reggie planned.

What I really enjoyed about this book is the realness of it. When you play with fire, you get burned, so readers don’t get a cute little story with a happy ending. We get to see real emotions, whether those emotions are rational or not. Reggie was self-centered and didn’t realize how his actions would affect others. Ugh, I want to divulge more but I don’t want to spoil this story for others! Anyway, in addition to Reggie, we learn about Reggie’s wife, his daughters Olivia and Valerie, and Reggie’s younger girlfriend, Renee and daughter, Denise, and how Reggie has impacted their lives. I will stop here because again, I don’t wish to spoil it!

So, if you’re looking for something different, check this book out. It isn’t a new release, but it is highly enjoyable. There were plenty of days and nights I sat in my car and just listened!

Leave a Reply

