After the Dance

15818249

I love autobiographies, and I Marvin Gaye, I’m saying, the whole I Want You album is just amazeballs, y’all, so it was a no-brainer to grab this book. Readers get a different view of Marvin Gaye the man, not just the artist, through the eyes of his second wife, Janice, also called Jan. This book is good yet exhausting, and I say exhausting because as the title implies, it did seem like Jan and Marvin were performing a never-ending dance until Marvin’s unfortunate passing. I won’t get into the details of this book because this was real life and I sooo do not like to judge. I will say, however, that I did give major side-eyes and cringed a lot. Despite it all, it is a fascinating and highly entertaining story.

I highly recommend this book for R&B lovers, especially fans of Marvin. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Jan’s story and would have loved to know more about her life after Marvin. Ms. Jan had definitely lived an interesting life! So, pick this up folks!

Leave a Reply

