Forty Acres

Slavery in America is often a touchy subject. In this new novel by Dwayne Alexander Smith, we enter a world where those who’s ancestors were enslaved are now the masters and the ancestors of slave owners are now the slaves. Interesting, huh?

In this thriller, Martin Grey, a civil rights storefront lawyer, is up against Damon Darrell, a very well known black attorney, in the biggest case of his career. After Martin does the unthinkable, Darrell believes Martin is worthy to join the ranks of the other big shots and attempts to bring Martin into the fold and show him the good life. This good life includes flying on private jets, notoriety, and the best that money can buy. It also includes taking getaways to unleash their pent up agression and anger against the white race and become masters to their white slaves. Of course, Martin doesn’t know all this, he just wants to rub shoulders with the black elite and make a name for himself and his business. How will Martin fare when he realizes the truth about this secret society? Will he join them or risk his life to escape?

This is a damn good story! Do I need to say it again? Let me repeat: This is a damn good story! The storyline is brilliant, if I must say so myself. Reading this book was just what I needed. It’s unique, considering what’s out now, and I think that adds to my thinking that this story is a great one. I must admit, however, that I had to adjust to the author’s style. Smith’s style is straight to the point, which was different from what I am used to. Initially, I thought the writing was a bit cold but later on liked and appreciated the writing style. After all, I couldn’t stop reading this! It’s full of suspense, as I often held my breath and was somewhat scared of what I would read on that next page. In addition, because the author’s style is straight forward, this book is very fast paced. Do I think you will also like it? Yes I do!

Conversely, the ending, ok, I will be honest here. I didn’t like exactly how it ended. It’s nothing horrible or anything like that. I won’t say anything further about it because I don’t want to spoil it. I also wasn’t too keen on another scenario in the book, but again, I won’t say what because I don’t want to spoil it! I will just say that things wrapped up a bit too neatly for me in the mine. So there, you have a bit of a spoiler.

In all, if you didn’t realize this by now, I think this is a very good book! If you are looking for something different, check this out. I’ll be real here, this book might make some folks mad. However, I can see this being a great movie.

 

*I want to give a big thank you to the author for this compelling, controversial, and thought-provoking story, as well as Netgalley and the publishers for allowing me access.*

2 thoughts on “Forty Acres

Leave a Reply

