My “You Did That!” Best Reads of 2013

I’ve always wanted to do this! Can’t you just feel my excitement? I know many popular sites list all these fantastical books I’ve never read, and those lists leave me feeling some type of way because many of the books listed don’t interest me. Besides, I know there are people out there who read the kinds of books I read so why the hell not? I know what’s hot! I do, however, read lots of books because it’s my job, but I gotta be real here in my little piece of cyber land.

So, let’s get started! I’ve read many, many books this year. Some good, some not so good. However, I’m gonna do like all these folks do and pick the ones I enjoyed this year. Many of them I have posted my thoughts on or blogged about so I won’t elaborate here unless the mood hits me.

Best 2013 release I’ve Read

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Highly anticipated 2013 follow-up releases I enjoyed

A Deeper Love Inside by Sister Soulja

I’d Rather Be With You by Mary B. Morrison

Drop Dead, Gorgeous by J.D. Mason

Family Business 2 by Carl Weber and Treasure Hernandez

Little Green by Walter Mosley (not really a follow-up though IMO)

Books I read and enjoyed in 2013 but wasn’t released this year 

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis

The Law of Divine Compensation: Mastering the Metaphysics of Abundance by Marianne Williamson

32 Candles by Ernessa T. Carter

Beautiful, Dirty, Rich by J.D. Mason

2013 Releases I have yet to read so don’t be mad if it’s not listed here (I’m still working on them!)

Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi

Decadence by Eric Jerome Dickey

I really wanted to add a ‘What the hell were you thinking?’ category, but I refuse to be messy. So, there you have it. Sorry, the mood didn’t hit me to elaborate.

Leave a Reply

