I’d Rather Be With You

Yasssss y’all, it is reading season! I have so many books to read and posts to put out. But first up is the highly anticipated follow-up to 16281000Mary B. Morrison’s If I Can’t Have You (I’ve done a review on this, check the archives), I’d Rather Be With You. Cue the Bootsy Collins; I can’t say or write this title without thinking about that song. Anywho, I was very ready to crack this book open, and I stayed up all night reading it.

Let’s just get right to it, shall we?

The quick rundown: All characters are back in this sequel, and we pick up where we left off. Chicago is in the hospital fighting for his life and Madison decides to pull the plug. Madison, the diva, is forced to deal with the aftermath of her decisions, as well as her health issues. She thinks she has an ally in her father, Johnny, but he has  his own intentions. Loretta is still by Chicago’s bedside, wishing, hoping, and praying that Chicago will finally wise up and choose her instead of Madison. (A little spoiler: Yes, he lives. How else would we have a story?) However, Loretta is still seeing Chicago’s brother, Chaz. Stank, I know. Tisha is finally making the decisions she needs to make in her life. And yes, Granville’s ignorant, country behind is in jail awaiting trial and the arrival of “his” baby.

My thoughts: These characters were all crazy. I loved it! This fast paced book was entertaining and a quick read. I practically finished this novel in one night. I have opinions about every character so hold on while I call some of them out.

Loretta, Loretta, Loretta. Chile, I just CANNOT with this chick. I admit it, I defended her in my IICHY post. Yes, she’s the one who initiated the bet. She did try to tell Madison not to go through with it, though, after realizing just how crazy Granville really was. I knew what she did was wrong and stemmed from her jealousy of Madison, but yup, I still rode with her. However, in this book, I am done with Loretta. Seriously. She was on 10, just as hypocritical and messy as she wanted to be.

On a different note, I loved the friendship between Madison and Tisha. Tisha is the kind of chick you want as a friend. I was proud of her and how far she’d come since the last book. Although she had to make some difficult decisions, she did them and kept it moving. Hell, she was my favorite character in this book. Truth be told, many of them, if not all,  just aren’t very likable to me, including Chaz and Chicago. Chaz loves his brother but needed to mind his business. Chicago… I just don’t know what to say about him. One minute I think he’s a good guy, the next minute I think he’s wishy-washy and plays games. Why was he still talking to Loretta in the end, after the truth about her was revealed? Yeah, I dropped that tiny spoiler there.

In addition, I liked how Madison’s hound dog daddy had his own voice in this book. Shady is not the word for him, but it made me see where Madison got her shrewdness from.

I must add that I do have several questions. First up, what will happen with Loretta and Madison? Will Chicago go through with his decision? I have several questions about Granville but I don’t want to spoil it for others. I hope these questions and more will be answered in the next book.

In short,  I really enjoyed this open-ended book. I stayed up all night reading it because I refused to go to sleep until I was finished. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series since the novel left me with several questions. I do recommend readers begin with book 1, If I Can’t Have You first.

Leave a Reply

