Americanah and The Roving Tree

I read Americanah and The Roving Tree some time ago but failed to share it on the blog until now. I enjoyed both books and recommend them. This is another drive-by post (I ain’t got time for long posts today!).

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is described as a love story. I call it a life story. We readers follow Ifemelu as she getsamericanah her life; we watch her as she experiences many situations and emotions, including finding love and moving to America. As we all know, we all go through many life situations, and we readers get to watch Ifemelu grow from a child to a woman.

I hadn’t read any of the author’s previous titles and I was anxious to read this, especially after I read about the protagonist, Ifemulu, being a blogger. I had this book checked out twice; the first time I just wasn’t interested. Shrugs. It happens. Anyway, I read the reviews of the book and made it my mission to read it, whether I ended up liking it or not. Well folks, I am so glad I did! My reason for digging this book is because I felt her, seriously, I understood her. Some reviewers didn’t get the whole natural hair thing but I understood all that too because I’m in that boat. However,  I didn’t agree with her reasons for cutting Obinze off but I felt that was probably necessary, as she had to find herself.

The Roving Tree by Elsie Augustave is a very well-written and haunting debut novel about a Haitian child brought to America to live with a white family. the roving treeIris struggles to find her place in this new world and has trouble understanding why she isn’t with her family in Haiti. Iris’s mother made the decision to allow her to become adopted in order to save Iris from a life destined to servitude and lower class. Although the ending is evident from the beginning pages, I couldn’t help but to be haunted by her and wished for a different outcome.

I won this book from the Goodreads first reads giveaway and thank all those involved with me receiving this book. I look forward to reading new titles from this author. Despite its content, it was enjoyable and easy to read.

Leave a Reply

