The Man in 3B

After reading Carl Weber’s (and Eric Pete) book, The Family Business and loving it, I absolutely had to get my hands on his latest, The Man in 3B. The Man in 3B is somewhat of a mystery, as it is full of lies, deceit, drama, and lust. Carl has been doing different things with his writing, and I cannot say that I am disappointed. It took me a couple days to read this book, and I enjoyed every page.

The quick rundown: Daryl Graham, or the man in 3B as his neighbors call him, has made a huge impression on the folks in his apartment building. After moving into apartment 3B, he meets his new neighbors, and they all have a story to tell. Daryl forms relationships with many people in the building, including awkward 21-year-old Benny, and Connie, an overweight wife in a rocky marriage to husband Avery. There are also the gossips on the stoop, Bertha, Nancy, and Pam, who seem to have no problem telling anyone’s business, despite having drama of their own. Many in the building notice the change Daryl has brought into the lives of  his new neighbors, and are not liking it. When the man in 3B is killed, everyone in the building is a suspect, and all are pointing fingers.

I liked this book and how the author’s writing is progressing. Don’t get me wrong, I will always enjoy his church and big girl novels, but it is refreshing to switch it up every once in a while. I found myself having to reread several passages because I couldn’t believe what I was reading. When I thought I knew what was going on, the book took a different turn. However, after I finished reading, I was left with  many questions, especially pertaining to Daryl. Readers really don’t know Daryl at all. Too, what eventually happened with Krystal and Slim, and most importantly, Krystal’s mother? With these questions, I am hoping there will be a part 2!

Leave a Reply

