Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

As with many books, I was turned on to this trilogy after being asked repeatedly for them. After about the hundredth request, I decided to see what the fuss was about and picked up book 1. Surprisingly, I loved The Hunger Games!

If one has been living under a rock and has no clue about this series, here is a very brief synopsis. Katniss and her family are living in District 12, and their Capitol holds the Hunger Games, a death match to keep the residents in line. All of the districts, 1-12, participate by choosing a girl and boy tribute, aged 12-18.  Life was bad enough for Katniss and her family, but when her beloved sister is picked, Katniss takes her place in the games. This is where all the action starts! She and Peeta compete and do what is necessary to survive and return to their families.

Catching Fire picks up where The Hunger Games ended. Katniss and Peeta are back home, living in the victor’s village with their families.  Of course there cannot be happiness! Because of the stunt Katniss and Peeta pulled, there is talk of a rebellion. The Capitol will not have that! Peeta and Katniss must prove their love for each other, even when the unexpected happens. And trust me, unexpected stuff happens!

Mockingjay… welp I couldn’t get into this one. I made it to the middle, read the ending, and returned it to the library. I found this book to be very depressing. I wanted to be surprised by the ending, but like Haymitch told Katniss, she could’ve done worse.

In brief, The Hunger Games trilogy can be read and enjoyed by all ages.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s