Where There’s Smoke Parts 1 and 2

This is another case of book covers gone wrong or when covers don’t match the story inside the book. Or, should I just say, don’t judge a book by its cover?

Whatever the case, while at work, I came across the books, Where There’s Smoke and Where There’s Smoke 2: When the Smoke Clears, by Terra Little, while shelving the urban fiction display. The covers kinda threw me off.  My first impression of these books was completely wrong. I thought these novels would be more on the depressing side, and I was looking for more light reads. Let me say, these books are very entertaining! I could NOT put them down. In fact, I stayed up until 3 one morning reading book 1.

The run down: Alec “Smoke” Avery is hit with child support papers for a child he didn’t know existed and from a woman he long forgot. Anne Phillips, or Breanne, as Smoke knew her back in the day, is raising 16-year-old Isaiah by herself.  She decides to reach out to Smoke because her son is misbehaving and she can no longer control him. She feels it is necessary for Smoke to finally be apart of their son’s life because she does not want her son to venture down the wrong path as she did. Anne is a former crack addict, and Smoke Avery was her main supplier.  Breanne would often trade sex for drugs and eventually became pregnant with their son.

After reconciling, these two are forced to raise a son together and accept each other’s changes.

In the follow-up, Where There’s Smoke 2: When the Smoke Clears, Isaiah is a grown man away at college. Smoke and Anne are finally a couple with a new addition to their family. However, trouble isn’t far behind for Smoke and the crew, as their pasts interfere with their present situations. Book 2 also gives voice to several characters, including Anne’s mother, Alice. The different points of view can be overwhelming at times, but many questions are answered, especially where Anne is concerned.

I thoroughly enjoyed both books. I hadn’t laughed as much as I did since I read Game Over. As with many urban fiction titles there are grammatical errors. However, it didn’t take away from either book. I enjoyed book 1 more than book 2, but both are highly recommended. After reading book 1, it is impossible to not read book 2.

Leave a Reply

