All About Eva

Can money buy happiness? This question is the premise of All About Eva by Deidre Berry. I noticed this novel at work back in June, I believe, but just finished reading it today. Being that this is the first book I’ve read by this author, I didn’t know what to expect. I wanted to read something different, preferably a book with a happy ending. All About Eva didn’t disappoint and gave me the happy ending I needed. Really, reading the books I had been reading lately were depressing me.

A quick rundown: Eva is a New York transplant from Chicago who lucks up and finds the perfect man in Donovan Dorsey, a highly rich and successful businessman. She quits her job and lives the high life with Donovan. While away on her birthday trip, Donovan leaves her stranded in Switzerland. She makes her way back to the states with the help of her friends and finds out the truth about Donovan: he’s been scamming his clients and is now on the run. Eva is now broke and she finds out who her real friends are. However, Eva redeems herself and finds out the answer to the question, can money buy happiness?

This book was a quick read for me. It was what I needed at the time, considering I had been reading some pretty heavy street novels and needed something light. Although this is a predictable story, it is enjoyable and any person can gain something or a lesson out of this story.

Leave a Reply

