50 Shades of Grey

Okay, I admit it. I drank the Kool-Aid. I placed 50 Shades of Grey on hold since I had been bombarded by requests for this book from patrons of all ages and races. I hadn’t heard of the book and was curious to find out what the fuss was about. I mean, really, if a 70+ looking great-granny is requesting this book, it can’t be that bad, right? Right?

The breakdown:  Anastasia meets Christian after filing in for her friend Kate to interview him for their school’s newspaper. Ana is an awkward virgin about to graduate from college. Christian is this big time, rich business man and is young, sexy and plays the piano like a concert pianist. Although he can obviously have any woman he wants, he is captivated with Ana. And guess what? She wants some Christian. However, Christian isn’t the relationship kind of guy, unless it is a BDSM (go look that up) relationship. Ana, being a virgin and all, toys with the idea of being with Christian and agrees to the relationship. However, both of them get something they didn’t bargain for out of their relationship.

So…I am left with many questions. In fact, I have to ask this, as this question has been nagging at me. If she is a virgin, how did she know how to perform oral sex on him that good? How does she know that he’s great in bed? Really?! The whole virgin thing throws me off. And, let’s not forget the tampon scene…

I found out while awaiting my turn on the hold list that this book was a Twilight fan fiction book. After reading, and well, skimming this book, I find this to be true. The characters were acting like teens, really, minus the sex scenes.

Despite all that, it’s so bad it’s good. It is a bit entertaining, honestly, if you can get past the biting of the lip, holy craps and her blushing and flushing on every page. Oh, and her inner goddess. I wanted to smack the hell out of her. Yet, for whatever reason, I just HAD to get to the end of the book, even if it meant skimming the last few chapters. If it didn’t have the sex, it would be a YA book.

Would I recommend this book? Maybe. If you’re just looking for some mindless reading, go ahead. It ‘s not too, too terrible, but it is not great, either. But, there is better, well written erotica elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

